Review – Dante’s Inferno: An Animated Epic

Upcoming video game experience gets an animated debut!

There really wasn’t much news of this movie going around before I watched it, but being familiar with the story/poem The Divine Comedy I thought I’d give it a try. With that general idea in the back of my mind this film doesn’t keep much to the original story but for the basic theme (Hell and all its levels and layers) and the names of the characters. The truth behind this “animated epic” is that it’s based on a video game coming soon, produced by EA and Visceral Games.

Dante’s Inferno isn’t a bad animated flick at all. I was confused at first because as the animation progressed it would change styles from time to time; I then realized it has the same animation format as both The Animatrix and Batman: Gotham Knight; there are multiple sections and sequences animated under the direction of different… uhmm… directors. Watching the end credits will confirmed this.

While watching the movie I was often reminded of the God of War games because of it’s sometimes excessive violence and its rather obscure references to characters in a somewhat mixed mythology. It’s a basic story wherein the “hero” is more an anti-hero trying to absolve himself for past sins.

Now that all behind, I liked this movie. I’ve always been a fan of short story’s by different authors and artists following a specific theme and this was that for me. It was nice to see the different perspectives and directions of each segment though at times it was hard to tell who was who because the character’s changed so dramatically from one segment to the next. Dante’s Inferno was entertaining but not at all for kids… well, unless your kids can handle animated blood and gore and you don’t mind that they watch it.

-VR

One thought on “Review – Dante’s Inferno: An Animated Epic

  1. This animation looks really good, I hope the game is just as awesome. Makes me wish I had a system I could play it on. I read some about Dante and it gave me a little hardon. Makes me wonder how the DVD portrayed him

    Dialogue with an imaginary being is always good when role-playing… mmm…

Commenting is sharing.

